FOLLOW US :
212-300-5196

White Glove Service. Excellent Results. Strong Reputation.

Read Our Reviews

NYC Criminal Lawyers

The Spodek Law Group is an elite criminal defense law firm that provides superior service and white glove professionalism, to a unique clientele nationwide. We handle tough cases that require experience, attention to detail, and excellence in order to win. With over 50 years of combined experience, we’ve handled national and international cases.

Our Mission

Service is paramount to results. We treat you like family, so you know what's going on always.

We Work for You

When you hire our criminal attorneys, you work directly with a senior attorney only.

Who We Are

We've been reviewed and rated as a top rated criminal defense law firm.

Schedule Consultation

Criminal Defense Lawyers

Our criminal defense law firms is one of the most successful defense law firms in the state of New York. We have a high success rate because we are very pragmatic when it comes to advising our clients on how to proceed – and to make sure their case ends in a positive outcome. Our goal is to help every single client get charges dismissed, or reduced. Because of our work, 100’s of people have been able to avoid criminal charges from being filed against them.

Charle Butler
Charle Butler
2021-03-12
Verified
I was hesitant to hire the Spodek Law Group. I read reviews and knew they have a great reputation. However, I thought I would spend money and not see or speak to my attorney. From the beginning to end of my case Todd and the entire staff were available and willing to help. We worked towards and end result that was way above my expectation and Todd delivered. I am forever grateful for patience and long days and night spent working on my case. Thanks Todd and the entire team!
Mesonista parsons
Mesonista parsons
2021-03-05
Verified
My attorney at Spodek was Abigail. She was very knowledgeable and helpful with all my questions and concerns, as well as responsive. Her fees are affordable and Abigail took the time to make sure I understood everything relating to my case. I highly recommend Abigail and will request her services in the future.
debabrata chakraborty
debabrata chakraborty
2021-03-03
Verified
Todd A Spodek is the experienced and best criminal lawyer at USA. He is very professional and always respond on time. Alex also very cooperative and always help me. They took care me and my problem like family member. I am 100% satisfied for their professional service. My result was unexpected and amazing. They dismissed my case. I am really grateful to them. I will recommend you to go there if you want to solve your problem. I wish all the best for them.
Asata Hendricks
Asata Hendricks
2021-03-02
Verified
Truly appreciate the work the guys did!. Exceptional team & I know they care about each and everyone of their clients. I am super thankful to be referred to Spodek Law Group and I am grateful Todd & Alex were able to work diligently to achieve an outcome I am pleased with. Despite COVID they stayed on top of things and kept me informed every step of the way. Very thankful.
Mike Moroff
Mike Moroff
2021-02-26
Verified
I'm very satisfied with the services rendered by Todd, Alex and Mary Lou. I whole heartedly recommend Spodek Law Group . I've worked with and have retained other attorneys in the past with Todd's firm being the cream of the crop for many reasons. A very serious legal matter was resolved after a year's hard work and effort. Todd expertly guided me through the process and was able to navigate and make the good journey bearable as well as successful. Mary Lou initially provided excellent assistance before referring my case to Todd. Alex's support was effective and timely. The customer portal (MyCase) is an invaluable communication tool that also kept track of my case. Various aspects of my case were explained and there were several options provided but I made the final decision of how the case would be handled. The legal fee was reasonable considering the effort and amount of work plus it was a flat fee regardless of the length of time required to conclude my case. Todd made himself available to me and we had many scheduled meetings to go over the progress and to discuss the next steps. I felt more confident after many discussions with him. You will not go wrong choosing Spodek Law Group for legal matters.
Josh Katz
Josh Katz
2021-02-24
Verified
Being that it was the first time that I was in need of an attorney, I was afraid and hesitant and knew I needed the absolute best. It is beyond understood why Spodek Law Group has a reputation of being the top, if not the best law firm in New York. Alex and Abigail were there every step of the way even at the most unconvenient hours. I could not have asked for more. They are extremely good at what they do and they delivered much much more than just winning my case. A big thank you to Alex and Abigail for all the guidance and counseling and their upmost loyal support that extended far more than just legally. If you need the absolute best than don't hesitate to hire Spodek Law Firm.
L.C.
L.C.
2021-02-24
Verified
I cannot tell you how thankful I am to Todd and Alex for their hard work and dedication to my case. I had never been in any trouble before but I had an unfortunate event occur and in the midst of COVID-19 at that therefore I knew I needed a team that was dedicated to my success. Today- my case has been finalized and I’m walking away with no record and can continue life as a mother and a Grad student worry free. I cannot express enough gratitude for their assistance.
AnnMarie Soliman
AnnMarie Soliman
2021-02-23
Verified
I received a summons and called Spodek law group for a free consultation. Alex took my call and was very quick and responsive. He was available anytime through multiple platforms and very reassuring when needed. They are extremely organized and thorough. They got my case dismissed! I’m very grateful. Thank you Alex and Todd!


Hear From Our Clients

"Spodek Law Group have offered me excellent support and advice thru a very difficult time. I feel I've dealt with someone who truly cares and wants the best outcome for you and yours. I'm extremely grateful for all the help Spodek Law Group has offered me. I can't recommend them..."

David Bruce

"Spodek Law Group was incredibly professional and has given me the best advice I could wish for. They had been helpful and empathetic to my stressful situation. Would highly recommend Spodek Law Group to anyone I meet."

Rowlin Garcia

"Best service I ever had. Todd is absolutely class personified. You are in the safest hands with spodek. They have their clients interest in mind."

Francis Anim
Read Our Reviews

Food Stamp Fraud Judicial Review of Determination

The U.S. government performs audits and investigates allegations of violations in order to assure the integrity of the SNAP program. When they believe a business has committed food stamp fraud, they can take steps to disqualify the business from participating in the SNAP program. When this happens, you have a right to a judicial review of the Food and Nutrition Service’s action against you.

What is a judicial review?

A judicial review is your right to have a neutral third party examine the allegations against you and determine if disqualifying you from the snap program is the appropriate remedy. In this case, the third party that conducts the review is a federal judge. They don’t work for the Food and Nutrition Service (FNS) or any division of the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

Your judicial review is a lawsuit. You file a summons and complaint in a federal court. The case functions like any other lawsuit. The case may proceed to trial. After hearing the evidence, the judge may affirm the decision of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, they may throw it out completely, or they may order a different penalty.

How do you preserve your right to a judicial review?

There are a lot of things that need to happen in order for you to have the right to a judicial review. Preserving your right to appeal begins long before you file the case in district court. In fact, you need to begin preparing for your judicial review as soon as you receive a charging letter from the FNS.

When you first receive a charging letter, you have only 10 days to respond. You need to prepare documents that show the FNS why they’re wrong about the allegations against you. This response need to be detailed, and it needs to be carefully crafted to respond to the allegations. From there, you can ask the U.S. Department of Agriculture to review the claim. Again, you have only 10 days to demand the review.

Once you’ve exhausted your right to an administrative review, you have thirty days to ask for a judicial review. To get a judicial review, you file a summons and complaint in the appropriate U.S. district court. This is a civil lawsuit much like any other lawsuit in a federal court. You need to prepare court filings and serve the other party.

You have only 30 days to prepare the lawsuit and get it filed. This time limit begins when you receive the final decision from the administrative review. If your lawsuit isn’t timely, you’ll likely lose your opportunity to have a judge review the penalties against you.

Does the opinion of the FNS matter?

When you exercise your right to a judicial review, the district court judge conducts their case on a de novo basis. That means, they don’t have access to any kind of record from the administrative proceedings. They don’t start with the presumption that the person who conducted the earlier review made the correct choice. Instead, they conduct their own trial with an open mind. They admit evidence and they make their own determination from scratch.

How can a judicial review help my business?

If you believe that the person reviewing the case didn’t reach the correct conclusion, a judicial review is a way to get a neutral third party to review the case. You have the opportunity to participate in the discovery process. This process allows you to request documents from the government, conduct depositions and otherwise prepare your case.

The judicial review also gives you the opportunity to ask the court for a stay of the action against you. The court must review the case for whether they think it’s likely that you’ll succeed on the merits of your case. If the court believes that you have a good case, and they believe that someone’s likely to suffer permanent harm by the action against you, they can put the action on hold while you wait for trail.

Can I appeal?

If you’re unhappy with the decision of the federal district court, you can bring an appeal. That appeal goes to the U.S. Court of Appeals in your circuit. In the appeal, the court reviews the record from the lower court. They don’t conduct a completely new trial, but they review the district court’s decision for mistakes. If they believe the district court made errors that prevented you from having a fair trial on the issues, they can vacate the decision of the district court.

From there, the next court to hear an appeal is the U.S. Supreme Court. To have the Supreme Court hear your case, you must apply for a writ of certiorari. Very few food stamp fraud cases go to the Supreme Court. However, bringing a writ of certiorari is an option if that’s what it takes to get justice for you.

How can an attorney help?

If you’re facing an allegation of food stamp fraud and disqualification of your participation in snap or another SNAP penalty, an attorney can help you skillfully prepare your case. A judicial review is a court case just like any other court case. An experienced attorney can accurately prepare court documents in order to meet the deadlines and preserve your claims. An attorney knows the rules of evidence. This can help you prepare your case with admissible and convincing evidence, so that you can present the facts to the judge in the best light possible.

An experienced snap attorney can give you guidance based on their years of working in this area of law. They know what evidence the court needs to see in order for your judicial review to succeed. Their experience with evidentiary rules mean that you arrive at your trial date prepared and confident. They can tactfully and skillfully approach the government’s attorney to see if there’s a non-trial resolution that might work for you. This guidance can make a significant difference when it comes to protecting your rights and your business.


Charle Butler
Charle Butler
2021-03-12
Verified
I was hesitant to hire the Spodek Law Group. I read reviews and knew they have a great reputation. However, I thought I would spend money and not see or speak to my attorney. From the beginning to end of my case Todd and the entire staff were available and willing to help. We worked towards and end result that was way above my expectation and Todd delivered. I am forever grateful for patience and long days and night spent working on my case. Thanks Todd and the entire team!
Mesonista parsons
Mesonista parsons
2021-03-05
Verified
My attorney at Spodek was Abigail. She was very knowledgeable and helpful with all my questions and concerns, as well as responsive. Her fees are affordable and Abigail took the time to make sure I understood everything relating to my case. I highly recommend Abigail and will request her services in the future.
debabrata chakraborty
debabrata chakraborty
2021-03-03
Verified
Todd A Spodek is the experienced and best criminal lawyer at USA. He is very professional and always respond on time. Alex also very cooperative and always help me. They took care me and my problem like family member. I am 100% satisfied for their professional service. My result was unexpected and amazing. They dismissed my case. I am really grateful to them. I will recommend you to go there if you want to solve your problem. I wish all the best for them.
Asata Hendricks
Asata Hendricks
2021-03-02
Verified
Truly appreciate the work the guys did!. Exceptional team & I know they care about each and everyone of their clients. I am super thankful to be referred to Spodek Law Group and I am grateful Todd & Alex were able to work diligently to achieve an outcome I am pleased with. Despite COVID they stayed on top of things and kept me informed every step of the way. Very thankful.
Mike Moroff
Mike Moroff
2021-02-26
Verified
I'm very satisfied with the services rendered by Todd, Alex and Mary Lou. I whole heartedly recommend Spodek Law Group . I've worked with and have retained other attorneys in the past with Todd's firm being the cream of the crop for many reasons. A very serious legal matter was resolved after a year's hard work and effort. Todd expertly guided me through the process and was able to navigate and make the good journey bearable as well as successful. Mary Lou initially provided excellent assistance before referring my case to Todd. Alex's support was effective and timely. The customer portal (MyCase) is an invaluable communication tool that also kept track of my case. Various aspects of my case were explained and there were several options provided but I made the final decision of how the case would be handled. The legal fee was reasonable considering the effort and amount of work plus it was a flat fee regardless of the length of time required to conclude my case. Todd made himself available to me and we had many scheduled meetings to go over the progress and to discuss the next steps. I felt more confident after many discussions with him. You will not go wrong choosing Spodek Law Group for legal matters.
Josh Katz
Josh Katz
2021-02-24
Verified
Being that it was the first time that I was in need of an attorney, I was afraid and hesitant and knew I needed the absolute best. It is beyond understood why Spodek Law Group has a reputation of being the top, if not the best law firm in New York. Alex and Abigail were there every step of the way even at the most unconvenient hours. I could not have asked for more. They are extremely good at what they do and they delivered much much more than just winning my case. A big thank you to Alex and Abigail for all the guidance and counseling and their upmost loyal support that extended far more than just legally. If you need the absolute best than don't hesitate to hire Spodek Law Firm.
L.C.
L.C.
2021-02-24
Verified
I cannot tell you how thankful I am to Todd and Alex for their hard work and dedication to my case. I had never been in any trouble before but I had an unfortunate event occur and in the midst of COVID-19 at that therefore I knew I needed a team that was dedicated to my success. Today- my case has been finalized and I’m walking away with no record and can continue life as a mother and a Grad student worry free. I cannot express enough gratitude for their assistance.
AnnMarie Soliman
AnnMarie Soliman
2021-02-23
Verified
I received a summons and called Spodek law group for a free consultation. Alex took my call and was very quick and responsive. He was available anytime through multiple platforms and very reassuring when needed. They are extremely organized and thorough. They got my case dismissed! I’m very grateful. Thank you Alex and Todd!

FREE CONSULTATION

Testimonials

Spodek Law Group have offered me excellent support and advice thru a very difficult time. I feel I've dealt with someone who truly cares and wants the best outcome for you and yours. I'm extremely grateful for all the help Spodek Law Group has offered me. I can't recommend them enough.

~ David Bruce

Spodek Law Group was incredibly professional and has given me the best advice I could wish for. They had been helpful and empathetic to my stressful situation. Would highly recommend Spodek Law Group to anyone I meet.

~ Rowlin Garcia

Best service I ever had. Todd is absolutely class personified. You are in the safest hands with spodek. They have their clients interest in mind.

~ Francis Anim

Spodek Law Group

White Glove Service

We provide superior service, excellent results, at a level superior to other criminal defense law firms. Regardless of where your case is, nationwide, we can help you.

Get In Touch

Schedule Your Consultation

Los Angeles

555 W 5th St 35th floor, Los Angeles, CA 90013

212-300-5196



get directions

Queens

35-37 36th St, 2nd Floor Astoria, NY 11106

212-300-5196



get directions

NYC

85 Broad St 30th Floor, New York, NY 10004

212-300-5196



get directions

Brooklyn

195 Montague St., 14th Floor, Brooklyn, NY 11201

212-300-5196



get directions

Call Us