New York Penal Code 130.75: Course of Sexual Conduct Against a Child in the First Degree is a class B felony charge. Should one face such a charge, immediate contact with a NYC criminal lawyer is imperative. The penal code refers to a duration of three months and is broken down as follows below.
A first-degree charge results if one engages in two or more sexual acts with a child less than eleven years old, including a minimum of one act of sexual intercourse, oral sexual conduct, anal sexual conduct, or aggravated sexual contact. It is also possible to be charged with penal code 130.75 if one is 18 years or older and engages in two or more sexual acts with a child less than 13 years old, including at least one instance of sexual intercourse, oral sexual conduct, anal sexual conduct, or aggravated sexual contact. If one is charged with Sexual Conduct Against a Child in the First Degree, they cannot be prosecuted for another sexual offense with the same victim, unless the offense occurred outside of the three-month period.
The state of New York defines sexual intercourse as any penetration of the penis into the vagina, however minimal. Intercourse is not exclusive to an erect penis, emission of sexual fluids, or orgasm. Oral sexual conduct is defined as any contact between the mouth and the penis, anus, vulva, or vagina. Anal sexual conduct is defined by the New York court system as any contact between the penis and the anus. Aggravated sexual contact is the inserting of a foreign object into the vagina, urethra, rectum, or anus of a child.
There are several defenses to such a charge. With regards to the time frame, one could argue that the alleged sexual acts did not occur within a three-month window. It is also possible to argue that there were less than two acts: either one or none. These defenses would likely result in a reduced charge, moving away from the First Degree and away from a class B felony.
Of course, the best possible defense would be to argue that no such sexual acts of misconduct occurred at all. The criminal attorney could challenge the prosecution’s time frame, elements of the acts, or the entire situation altogether. Although it is still possible to face reduced charges, the aim of such a defense is a complete dismissal of the case.
A strange but not unheard of defense to such a charge is that the victim and the alleged perpetrator were legally married. Although it is not common for children under 13 years old to be married, it is not impossible. This is particularly true for couples arriving from overseas who have a marriage recognized by the state of New York.
Lastly, there is a statute of limitations for such a charge where the incident must be presented within five years. This statute is not applicable for victims under 18 years of age. However, the limitations period does begin after the victim turns 18 or once the incident is reported to law enforcement.
Because Course of Sexual Conduct Against a Child in the First Degree is a class B felony and classified as a violent felony offense, the charge carries a minimum of five years and a maximum of 25 years in prison. One must serve at least 6/7 of the sentence before being eligible for parole. First time offenders will still face at least a five-year prison term.
Beyond prison time, the conviction also requires that the perpetrator be registered as a sex offender. Depending on the suspected risk, one will remain on the registry between 20 years and the rest of their life.
New York Penal Code 130.80: Course of Sexual Conduct Against a Child in the Second Degree
The New York Penal Code includes a number of laws regarding sex crimes against children. There are two provisions that address the crime of course of sexual conduct against a child. The crime of course of sexual conduct against a child in the second degree is one such crime.
Keep in mind that oftentimes a person will not only be charged with course of sexual conduct against a child in the second degree. Rather, this will be one of the criminal charges brought against a person in a criminal prosecution.
Elements of Course of Sexual Conduct Against a Child in the Second Degree
There at two general instances in which a person can be charged with the crime of sexual conduct against a child in the second degree. First, a sexual conduct against a child in the second degree charge can occur if a person engages in two or more acts of sexual conduct with a child less than 11 years of age within a three month period of time.
Second, a sexual conduct against a child in the second degree charge can be presented if a person is at least 18 and engages in two or more acts of sexual conduct with a child who is less than 13 years of age within a three month time period.
The New York penal code defines acts of sexual conduct for the purposes of sexual conduct against a child in the second degree to include sexual intercourse, oral sexual acts, anal sexual conduct, aggravated sexual contact, or other sexual contact.
Example of Course of Sexual Conduct Against a Child in the Second Degree
An example of sexual conduct against a child in the second degree is a situation in which the a woman’s boyfriend babysits for her daughter with regularity. As part of the babysitting assignment, the boyfriend bathes the 10-year old girl.
Each time when the boyfriend, an adult, bathes the minor girl, he rubs the girl’s vaginal area with his fingers. Ultimately, the girl tells the mother of what has been occurring. The boyfriend can be charged with sexual conduct against a child in the second degree, among other potential offenses.
Sentence for Course of Sexual Conduct Against a Child in the Second Degree
sexual conduct against a child in the second degree is classified as a class D felony in the New York Penal Code. As a result, a person convicted of sexual conduct against a child in the second degree faces the prospect of seven years in prison. When convicted of sexual conduct against a child in the second degree, a person will also have to registry on the sex offender registry for a period of 20 years.
Defenses to Course of Sexual Conduct Against a Child in the Second Degree
An experienced NYC criminal attorney can raise potential defenses to a charge of sexual conduct against a child in the second degree. The most effective defenses may involve time and age issues. For example, the statute does include specific provisions regarding both the age of the victim and the age of the perpetrator.
In addition, New York law includes what is known as a statute of limitations. This establishes a specific timeframe within which a person must be prosecuted for sexual conduct against a child in the second degree. If that time period has lapsed, a defense can be made that it is too late to bring the case.
A New York criminal defense attorney can provide a case evaluation during an initial consultation with a prospective client. There usually is no fee charged for an initial consultation.
Spodek Law Group have offered me excellent support and advice thru a very difficult time. I feel I've dealt with someone who truly cares and wants the best outcome for you and yours. I'm extremely grateful for all the help Spodek Law Group has offered me. I can't recommend them enough.
Spodek Law Group was incredibly professional and has given me the best advice I could wish for. They had been helpful and empathetic to my stressful situation. Would highly recommend Spodek Law Group to anyone I meet.
Best service I ever had. Todd is absolutely class personified. You are in the safest hands with spodek. They have their clients interest in mind.
We provide superior service, excellent results, at a level superior to other criminal defense law firms. Regardless of where your case is, nationwide, we can help you.
555 W 5th St 35th floor, Los Angeles, CA 90013
35-37 36th St, 2nd Floor Astoria, NY 11106
85 Broad St 30th Floor, New York, NY 10004
195 Montague St., 14th Floor, Brooklyn, NY 11201