New York Penal Law 260.21: Unlawfully dealing with a child in the second degree

New York Penal Law 260.21: Unlawfully dealing with a child in the second degree

New York has strict laws in place designed to protect the rights and safety of minors who are under the age of 18. New York penal code 260.21, unlawfully dealing with a child carries stiff penalties for those who are convicted of this crime. Below is an outline of this penal code and the possible defenses that attorneys may use to clear their client of charges. If you have been charged with violating this penal code, contact a NYC criminal defense attorney at once to discuss your case.

Definition

The law defines New York penal code infractions as:

  • Allowing A Child Under 18 To Get A Tattoo
  • Exposing A Minor To Unlawful Sexual Activity
  • Allowing A Minor To Drink Alcohol
  • Giving Drugs To A Minor Child
  • Exposing A Minor Child To The Sale Of Drugs
  • Selling Alcohol To A Person Under 21

Charges similar to this one are endangering the welfare of a child and unlawfully dealing with a child in the second degree in New York.

Penalties

This crime is a Class A misdemeanor. The penalties imposed by the state of New York for violation of penal code 260.21 are as follows:

  • Jail Time Up To 1 Year
  • 3 Years Probation After Jail Sentence
  • Fines As Determined By The Court

If you have not been convicted of the crime of unlawfully dealing with a child in the second degree in the past 5 years, you may be able to avoid prosecution for this crime. In most instances, the court would require you to complete a drug and alcohol awareness training class insread of jail time. You may be placed on probation, however as deamed fair by the court.

Possible Defenses

Even though this crime is a misdemeanor, it can still have a negative impact on your life. For this reason, it is best to seek the legal counsel of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Your attorney may do the following to defend you:

  • Investigate Your Case
  • Negotiate A Lighter Sentence With The Prosecution
  • Suggest Alternative Sentencing

When imposing sentences for this crime, the court takes into consideration the background of the defendant and whether or not there was a past criminal history. Most first time offenders do not receive jail time unless there are extenuating circumstances involved. However, there is no guarantee of a light sentence which is why you need a criminal defense attorney on your side.

Facing charges outlined in New York penal code 260.21 is very serious and being convicted could change your life in many unpleasant ways. Contact a criminal defense attorney today to learn how he could help defend you against these charges in court. Not only would a conviction damage your reputation, it could cause you to be incarcarated for up to 1 year. Having an experienced lawyer on your side will ease your mind, knowing your future is in competent hands. In many cases, defense attorney’s are able to negotiate a deal with the prosecution before court. Do not leave your future to chance, schedule an appointment with a criminal defense attorney today to learn what options are available to you under the law.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Request Free Consultation

Please fill out the form below to receive a free consultation, we will respond to your inquiry within 24-hours guaranteed.